RSS Feeds

Friday, August 28, 2009

Tegan and Sara: a Recap

So for those of you who didn't know, they have been two very busy ladies! We'll start with the good news and then make it better.

Dutch DJ Tiësto's fourth studio album Kaleidoscope comes with a variety of collaborative vocal guests spots including Jónsi of Sigur Rós, Kele of Bloc Party, Nelly Furtado, Calvin Harris, Emily Haines, and Tegan and Sara. As Tiësto put it:
The starting point was to work with different artists that I liked. It was as simple as that. But the hardest thing initially was to get those kind of people to collaborate. They don't work with dance artists as a rule, and especially not a dance DJ, but when we started producing these tracks, I was surprised at how well the styles work together.
The first collaboration took place a year ago or so with Tegan and Sara. As far as the he said/she said, he gave them a track, they wrote lyrics and vocal lines for it, he finished it up in his Holland studio.

It starts off like your average generic modern dance something, but Tegan and Sara's appearance kinda keeps me hooked in, buying some time making me wondering where it's going. Well, it pays off. About halfway through, we hit the full, goosebumpy sound that these kinda songs need.

Feel it in My Bones (feat. Tegan and Sara) by Tiësto

Blow by blow/ I didn't see it coming has never been so accurate. The song starts slow, but it really hooks you in.

But let's face it, no matter how much I like the work Tiësto has done with Tegan and Sara, let's get to the best part: the new Tegan and Sara album, Sainthood. I mean, just check out the album cover (above)!

After receiving near unanimous praise for 2007's The Con, Tegan and Sara are gearing up for the October 27 release of Sainthood by unveiling the album's cover art and tracklist, plus the first dates of their fall tour.

Sainthood tracklist:
01 Arrow
02 Don't Rush
03 Hell
04 On Directing
05 Red Belt
06 The Cure
07 Northshore
08 Night Watch
09 Alligator
10 Paperback Heart
11 The Ocean
12 Sentimental Tune
13 Someday

I can't wait till October, but till then I guess I'll just have to put "Feel it in My Bones" On repeat.


Anonymous said...

OMG! I just checked out this ban don iTunes! What lovely music! I likey!

Morgan said...

Tegan and Sara truly are an amazing duo. I'm glad that you enjoyed them :)

Anonymous said...


Morgan said...

Tegan and Sara :)